When doing any burning in Louisa County the Emergency Communications Center (540)967-1234 ask that you contact them and provide the following information. (Name, Address, Phone Number)
The Commonwealth's 4 p.m. Burning Law goes into effect Feb. 15 - the start of spring fire season in Virginia.
This law prohibits burning before 4 p.m. each day (Feb. 15 - April 30) if the fire is in, or within 300 feet of, woodland, brushland or fields containing dry grass or other flammable materials.
A violation of this law is a Class 3 misdemeanor punishable by up to a $500 fine. In addition to the criminal violation, those who allow a fire to escape are liable for the cost of suppressing the fire as well as any damage caused to others' property.
What would you like to see us do differently at our annual firemen's fair and parade?
The purpose of this website is to better educate the general public and firefighters elsewhere with accurate information about the incidents firefighters face in Virginia and the tools they have to work with.